slowkillo.blogg.se

Dell latitude e6440 memory upgrade
Dell latitude e6440 memory upgrade











dell latitude e6440 memory upgrade

In order to add the mSATA drive, I removed the bottom panel, which is retained with 3 screws, that easily pops off.

dell latitude e6440 memory upgrade

There is also a removable optical drive (not common on a laptop of this size anymore) where I can pop in another SATA drive. The E6440 has a 14″ chassis and has a slot for an mSATA drive as well as the more common 2.5″ SATA drive. They are built well and serviceable but you do pay a bit more for them.

Dell latitude e6440 memory upgrade upgrade#

One of the features I appreciate most about Dell Latitude machines is how easy they are to work on, upgrade and repair. Installing the drive was really very easy. The specifications seemed in line with what I should look for and it was a bit more space than I have ever had for a root partition. I found on a 128GB mSATA SSD by MyDigitalSSD for $50.00 and thought this was a great deal and a great way to dip my toes in using SSDs for the first time.

dell latitude e6440 memory upgrade

I wasn’t sure if there would be any special configurations required in running an SSD verses a regular hard drive and from what I could find as well as talking to some folks on IRC and Telegram, there wasn’t anything I really had to do. Some people have mixed opinions of the SSHD, I haven’t had any issues with them and do appreciate the increase in speed from the traditional “spinning rust” only drive. My next purchase was to take advantage of this mSATA slot in this computer and move my root and swap partitions to it. My first real upgrade was maxing out the RAM to 16GB. When I purchased my Dell Latitude E6440, almost a year ago, I planned on doing some upgrades to it, post-purchase, no real timetable on when to do the upgrades, just eventually.













Dell latitude e6440 memory upgrade